Beaver Dam Unified School District Board of Education Proceedings

April 10, 2023

The regular meeting of the Beaver Dam Unified School District Board of Education was held on the above date at the Educational Service Center. Vice-President, John Kraus, Jr., called the meeting to order at 6:30 p.m. Board members present: Isaac Dornfeld (arrived at 6:41 pm), Marge Jorgensen, John Kraus, Jr., Mary Kuntz, Maria Mason, Lisa Panzer, Gary Spielman, and Joanne Tyjeski. Board members absent: Chad Prieve.

Mr. Kraus led in the Pledge of Allegiance.

Jorgensen moved, Spielman seconded, to approve the minutes from the regular meeting on March 13, 2023, as presented.

The motion was adopted by unanimous vote.

Mr. Kraus welcomed visitors.

Jorgensen moved, Tyjeski seconded, to adopt the agenda as presented.

The motion was adopted by unanimous vote.

Mr. Loss, Principal, and Mr. Twohig, Associate Principal, along with Mrs. Letkewicz and Ms. Anderson, Instructional Coaches, and Mrs. Lindert, PE Teacher/Social Emotional Learning Counselor, presented the School of the Month report for the Middle School. They reported on their School Success Plan and completed action steps, including staff effectiveness and development. They shared information about their Student of the Month program, Social Emotional Learning activities, and Community Service Day.

Ms. Malkovich, Director of Business Services, reported on the architectural partnership for the district's 5-year Facility Plan. She explained that architectural and construction management services are required to proceed with the current 5-year facility plan. She reviewed the request for proposals timeline and selection process. The committee selected Plunkett Raysich Architects due to lower fees and the district's previous positive working experience with them.

Tyjeski moved, Jorgensen seconded, to approve Plunkett Raysich Architects as the district's architectural partner for the current 5-Year Facility Plan.

The motion was adopted by the following vote: Aye – Jorgensen, Kraus, Kuntz, Mason, Panzer, Spielman, Tyjeski, and Dornfeld. Nay-None.

Ms. Solis, Board of Education Student Representative, reported on the various activities of the High School organizations and clubs. She reported on the Job Fair that was held at the High School and that the Junior class is preparing for Prom.

Ms. Jorgensen, Operations Committee Chair, reported the committee did not meet in March. The next meeting is scheduled for April 24.

Ms. Panzer, Teaching and Learning Committee Chair, reported the committee did not meet in March. The next meeting is scheduled for April 24.

Board members shared the engagement opportunities they participated in over the past month.

Board members recognized Ms. Solis for her great student reports and staff members for stepping up and going above and beyond. They also thanked coaches for the time spent with the kids and showing them how to be team players.

Mr. DiStefano, Superintendent, recognized students who qualified for state competitions in leadership roles. He shared that Volunteer Recognition Week is next week and thanked them for their involvement. He recognized the FFA for all they do to engage the community, especially with their plant sale and Something Special from Wisconsin breakfast both in May.

Tyjeski moved, Spielman seconded, the board recess into closed session per Wis. Stat. §19.85 (1)(c) considering employment, promotion, compensation or performance evaluation data of any public employee over which the governmental body has jurisdiction or exercises responsibility, specifically to discuss specific employees and employee groups.

The motion was adopted by the following vote: Aye – Kraus, Kuntz, Mason, Panzer, Spielman, Tyjeski, Dornfeld, and Jorgensen. Nay-None.

During closed session, there was discussion regarding specific employees and employee groups. No action was taken during closed session.

Tyjeski moved, Kraus seconded, to reconvene into open session.

The motion was adopted by unanimous vote.

Panzer moved, Jorgensen seconded, to approve the following resignations: Crystal Bates-Principal-Lincoln Elementary School (Resignation effective 4/28/23); Amy Friedl-English Language Arts Teacher-Middle School (Resignation effective end of the 2022-23 school year); Carly Plamann-Family and Consumer Education Teacher-High School (Resignation effective end of the 2022-23 school year); and Julie Wahl-Grade 3 Teacher-Jefferson Elementary School (Resignation effective end of the 2022-23 school year).

The motion was adopted by unanimous vote.

Panzer moved, Kuntz seconded, to approve the following leave of absence request: Vickie Flatt-School Counselor-Jefferson Elementary School (Medical Leave 4/6/23-4/21/23).

The motion was adopted by unanimous vote.

Panzer moved, Jorgensen seconded, to approve the following appointments: Grace Scharfenberg-5-year-old Kindergarten Teacher-Prairie View Elementary School (2023-24 school year) and Celina Alvin-Interim Principal-Lincoln Elementary School (4/17/23-5/30/23).

The motion was adopted by the following vote: Aye – Kuntz, Mason, Panzer, Spielman, Tyjeski, Dornfeld, Jorgensen, and Kraus. Nay-None.

Spielman moved, Tyjeski seconded, to renew teacher contracts for the 2023-2024 school year.

The motion was adopted by the following vote: Aye – Mason, Panzer, Spielman, Tyjeski, Dornfeld, Jorgensen, Kraus, and Kuntz. Nay-None.

Mr. DiStefano presented policy revisions recommended by NEOLA for final reading.

Tyjeski moved, Kuntz seconded, to adopt the board policy updates as presented.

The motion was adopted by unanimous vote.

Tyjeski moved, Jorgensen seconded, to approve the payment of financial claims (Voucher #509, #510, and #511) for District Credit Card, ACH File, Lease Administrator Center (ACH), Net Payroll, Payroll Taxes, WEA Trust Advantage, Health Savings Account, Health Savings Account (District), AXA Equitable, Fidelity, Franklin, WEA TSA, Wisconsin Retirement System, Payroll Related Voucher, LTD/STD/Life Insurance, and District Insurances for a total of \$3,248,280.32. (A listing of these vouchers can be found in the Accounts Payable Check Register.)

The motion was adopted by the following vote: Aye – Panzer, Spielman, Tyjeski, Dornfeld, Jorgensen, Kraus, Kuntz, and Mason. Nay-None.

Kuntz moved, Tyjeski seconded to adjourn the meeting.

The motion was adopted by unanimous vote and the meeting was adjourned at 7:45 p.m.

<u>/s/</u>	
Chad Prieve, President	
/s/	
Marge Jorgensen, Clerk	